Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

'Gus Honeybun' - best sports book of the year so far

Spencer Vignes

Oct 4, 2012
Howdy all,

As a journalist I get sent all sorts of books for free. Review copies. Kind of makes up for the poor wages us hacks get paid. Most are good, some average, others I admit I never get round to reading. It takes something to rave about one, even more to post on here.

That in mind 'Gus Honeybun, Your Boys Took One Hell Of A Beating' by Simon Carter is in my humble opinion the best sports book I've read so far this year. Knowing it's the kind of thing more than a few of you would also enjoy, I thought I'd spread the word.

Have cut and pasted my review for Backpass magazine below, so you get the gist.

Up the Albion,
Spencer

GUS HONEYBUN, YOUR BOYS TOOK ONE HELL OF A BEATING by Simon Carter (Pitch Publishing, £12.99)

If 383 pages on the highs and lows of supporting Exeter City sounds testing, don’t be fooled. This is an absolute gem of a read. True, the Grecians take centre stage, yet Gus Honeybun is more a love letter to lower league football and Carter’s native west country than anything to do with one particular club.

The lower league football angle has been done before, but rarely as effectively. Reared on City’s 1980/81 FA Cup giant killing side, Tony Kellow and all, Carter guides us through what is in effect an autobiography. This works, for two reasons. One, Carter is a skilled and entertaining wordsmith with an impressive CV in regional journalism across the southern half of England. The boy can write. Two, his passion not just for Exeter City but lower division football in general shines through. Anyone who gets their kicks away from the Premier League (where ‘they speak a different language to the one we’re used to, not a language we don’t understand, just one we don’t believe we’ll ever need to learn’) will find a soulmate in this book.