Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

O/T Are there any engineers on here who could give a bit of advice/guidance?

spongy

Aug 7, 2011
Burgess Hill
I've just been reading the degree thread and it's kind of related to my position.

I've been in engineering to some extent for 15 years.

Firstly setting operating CNC punchpresses.

For the last 5 I've been setting/running CNC lasers. For 2 of those I've also been setting/operating CNC BrakePresses. And am just beginning to get to grips with a CNC mill and starting to dabble and teach myself CNC programming which is what I want to do. I know the machines, how they work and what they're capable of. I can read engineering drawings and make components and am pretty good at finishing although it's not my niche discipline.

I've been applying for better jobs and to move up in the world but am constantly being overlooked for graduates with degrees and it's really beginning to hack me off.

I've got lots of experience and consider myself a great worker who is dependable but the lack of education is, I believe, holding me back.

So much so that at the age of 37 I'm just finishing an apprenticeship in manufacturing engineering. Completed a level 2 with distinction and will finish level 3 with distinction across the board. But it's still not enough and am considering asking to do a HNC/D engineering qualification through work but it's day release and will take an estimated 4 years to complete. It's asking a lot as I normally work 7am-7pm as need the overtime every month. And a 20 month daughter old I dont get to see as much as I want to as I'm only home 15 minutes before bed time.

My home/work life balance is crap and really want to spend more time at home with my Mrs and little girl. The only way I can do that is by earning more money as the basic wage so I can cut out some overtime and work normal hours.