Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

Over 50 and trying to find work....................again !

OzMike

Oct 2, 2006
Perth Australia
I am 56 years old in April and and still in good condition.
I have been subcontracting to 2 x businesses for the last 5 years.
This week one decided to call it a day and the other was sold and my contract terminated.
So here I go again, having to face the age discrimination again.
My wife says I would pass for 48 and should lie about my age and I am seriously considering this.
I never put my DOB on application forms, but once they find out the interest disappears.
I have a bit put aside, but with the kids all doing college courses etc. it won't last too long.
I will keep plugging away, but over here it is so tight for everyone to find work.
In fact I have never seen it so bad, I don't want to go on the social, dignity and all, but may have no choice.
I make a bit playing a few gigs but that is never serious coin especially shared with 5 band members.
It is quite depressing.
Any one else having to face this.
:nono:

blue'n'white

Oct 5, 2005
2nd runway at Gatwick
That's bad news - any chance of giving lessons in whatever instrument you play ?
Hope things get better for you

Herr Tubthumper

NSC Patreon
Jul 11, 2003
The Fatherland
Sorry to hear this. Not sure I can offer any help but I wish you well.

And I wouldn't worry about claiming benefits either.

el punal

I, too, have been in this same predicament. The fact is, unless you have much sought after skills, the future for a 40 hour a week, permanent, full time occupation will be rare.

I did numerous short term contract jobs for agencies for about three years and then, suddenly, found a wonderful semi-retirement role as a delivery driver of hot meals for children's nurseries. The people I work for are absolutely marvellous and I have now been with them for four years, with no regrets.