Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

Some legal advice please

Hornblower

Jul 7, 2003
I parked in a pay and display carpark near Haywards Heath station today. I bought my £7 ticket and then found that all the bays were full and that a number of cars had parked outside of the bays but in places that weren't obstructing the parked cars. When I came back I found a £100 parking fine on the windscreen which is £50 if I pay now. As I say, I wasn't obstructing any other cars and the machine issued a ticket when the the carpark was full. Is it worth trying to fight the penalty payment?

Gazwag

5 millionth post poster
Mar 4, 2004
Bexhill-on-Sea
Check out other (many) threads on here about parking fines, if you had put the word parking in the thread title you would have had some replies. [MENTION=1365]Westdene Seagull[/MENTION] is your man I think

Last edited:

I'm no expert, but if you paid for a product/service that didn't actually exist I'd suggest you have good grounds to appeal.

happypig

Staring at the rude boys
May 23, 2009
Eastbourne
Did you buy the ticket on the way in, ie before you parked, or are you supposed to find a space then buy a ticket (that's how most pay & displays work in my experience) ?

LadySeagull

Jan 21, 2011
Portslade
Bounced. I guess I'll just pay it then.

What, just pay a private parking ticket?!

Can I have a payment too for this reply? You don't need legal advice, this isn't a fine - but you can't ignore most of them these days. Things have changed.

Who from? NCP or someone else - many are easy to beat at appeal when you know how.

I know it's not the Council at £100 a pop, it's a scumbag ex-clamper or similar. If it's a BPA member, if 'POPLA' is offered as appeal on the back of the PCN, I'll write your appeal and give you free advice. I've never yet lost a POPLA appeal and have been lodging them every week.