Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

employer changing working hours

mooey

Mar 30, 2012
My employer is trying to change my working hours just wondered if anyone new about what legal rights I have

dingodan

Feb 16, 2011
I'm not an expert but I think you should refer to your contract with your employer. If it's a standard employment contract it will probably require you to work the hours you are asked to. It will be quite explicit about this anyway, that is the place to look.

vegster

Sanity Clause
May 5, 2008
I believe that a contract of employment can be varied by the employer at any time if the employer gives the correct notice period. 25 odd years ago at my old factory, the management wanted to change the wording of our contracts in order to " Update " them. Some of the staff noticed various clauses and sub clauses that they felt were unfair so they refused to sign the new contracts. After a month or so the employer came back and told us that if we hadn't signed them and returned them within one month, the company would " assume " we had signed them.

And that was in the days of a union, I dread to think what it is like now.

drew

Drew
Oct 3, 2006
Burgess Hill
I believe that a contract of employment can be varied by the employer at any time if the employer gives the correct notice period. 25 odd years ago at my old factory, the management wanted to change the wording of our contracts in order to " Update " them. Some of the staff noticed various clauses and sub clauses that they felt were unfair so they refused to sign the new contracts. After a month or so the employer came back and told us that if we hadn't signed them and returned them within one month, the company would " assume " we had signed them.

And that was in the days of a union, I dread to think what it is like now.