Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

Online backup advice please

I've been using Carbonite for a few years but I've just bought a laptop with a very small hard disk which makes it easier when travelling. Consequently the vast majority of my files are now stored on an external hard drive rather than internally.

But Carbonite won't let me back up an external hard drive unless I upgrade - I currently use the basic version. Then it will back up my laptop's hard drive AND my external hard drive, but there's virtually nothing on my laptop's hard drive so I'll be paying for something I'm not using.

Anyone have any suggestions as to what to use? What about Backblaze?

Thanks in advance

Stephen Seagull

Oct 6, 2015
Barcelona
Would dropbox not do the trick if you've only got a few files

Wozza

Shite Supporter
Jul 6, 2003
I use Backblaze. Seems to do the job - although I guess I won't really know until I lose all my data at home...

beorhthelm

A. Virgo, Football Genius
Jul 21, 2003
I've been using Carbonite for a few years but I've just bought a laptop with a very small hard disk which makes it easier when travelling.

the horse has bolted, but why on earth did you get a new laptop without sufficient space? unless moving from a desktop, the laptop drive capacities would be equal or larger than an old one shirley?

Colossal Squid

Returning video tapes
Feb 11, 2010
Under the sea
the horse has bolted, but why on earth did you get a new laptop without sufficient space? unless moving from a desktop, the laptop drive capacities would be equal or larger than an old one shirley?

Not necessarily.

Many new high end laptops today come with solid state drives instead of old fashioned HDDs and the significant difference in price between the two technologies means it's more common to have a smaller capacity SSD than you would see in an equivalent spec'd machine using a traditional HDD.