Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

The Official NSC swimming thread

Stat Brother

NSC Patron
Jul 11, 2003
West west west Sussex
NSC seems to be missing a specific thread for one third of a triathlon.

I get the feeling this may well sink quickly (see what I did there) but I'm hoping there's some serious NSC swimmers, of whom I can ask some advise.

deletebeepbeepbeep

May 12, 2009
I swim three times a week, wouldn't classify myself as that serious though, freestyle 1,000 m in about 19 minutes. I want to start doing more open water swimming outside of the summer months so need to invest in a wet suit!

Self taught myself about 4 years ago.

Notters

Oct 20, 2003
Guiseley
I wouldn't say I was serious but I enjoy swimming outdoors. First time in about ten years I've not been in the English channel though :( (bloody weather). Fortunately did a little in the Atlantic (in Spain) and less fortunately the Med (in Spain) where I was stung by a jellyfish.

Mellor 3 Ward 4

Jul 27, 2004
saaf of the water
I swim three times a week, wouldn't classify myself as that serious though, freestyle 1,000 m in about 19 minutes. I want to start doing more open water swimming outside of the summer months so need to invest in a wet suit!

That's pretty good.

I swim at least twice a week - do either 40 lengths (1k) or 64 (a mile) depending on how long I've got.

I can't quite get under 20 minutes for 1k - but use the fact I'm almost 54, and apart from holidays didn't swim for years as an excuse

Great form of exercise, so much better for your body than running.

Stat Brother

NSC Patron
Jul 11, 2003
West west west Sussex

Ah you might just be the man. We swim for the same amount of time and I'm 'only' 500 metres slower :lol: :facepalm:

While taking Lil Miss Stat to her swimming lessons, I swim in the 'grown ups' lane.

My thing is I know I'm a very basic swimmer, but occasionally I'll swim a 25m length really easily, quickly, and without tiring.