Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

Goldstone Ground memories

goldstone

Jul 5, 2003
I walked over the railway bridge at Hove Station the other day, turned left along Newtown Road and stood at the corner of Goldstone Lane for a few minutes. Closing my eyes I could see the stands, the pitch, the floodlight pylons, and the crowds gathering for the game. And across the road in the church doorway was the programme seller. The memories came flooding back. What a wonderful and exciting period of my life that was, supporting the Albion in the Goldstone days.

Then I did something I have never done before .... went into the Goldstone Retail Park. I had heard a rumour that the centre spot was marked in one of the stores. DFS looked the most likely location ... a bemused shop assistant told me that she was standing where the goal had been, but no, they didn't have the centre spot marked. She even went to double check with her manager!

And, by the way, a Nandos is being built next to the Burger King.

:sick:

Attachments

• scan0009.jpg
    scan0009.jpg
    536.8 KB · Views: 1,001
  • scan0039.jpg
    scan0039.jpg
    534 KB · Views: 992
  • scan0036.jpg
    scan0036.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 1,052
  • scan0055.jpg
    scan0055.jpg
    992.4 KB · Views: 1,009
  • scan0047.jpg
    scan0047.jpg
    1.5 MB · Views: 998

dejavuatbtn

Aug 4, 2010
Henfield
Ah, the smell from Clarks Bakery, the corregated iron players entrance, the old barn on the corner of Newtown Road, splinters in your bum from the south stand bench seats, the unfinished West Stand, dank dark smelly toilets, half time score markers, Fred the argus and the old boy going round after half time with the lottery placard. Ah happy days, a proper football ground.

Mr Bridger

Sound of the suburbs
Feb 25, 2013
Earth