Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

[Music] Advice for someone wanting to play Guitar.

Shipley8312

Aug 12, 2014
hey all

I want to start learning how to play acoustic guitar so im looking for some advice on the size,model and the sort of price i should be looking to pay for a first guitar.

I will also be wanting lessons so if you know anyone who teaches in the haywards heath area please let me know

Thanks

Biscuit

Native Creative
Jul 8, 2003
Brighton
I much prefer acoustic to electric. Almost everything comes down to preference. I much prefer nylon guitar strings to steel for example. For you, as a beginner, I'd say go with nylon strings as they'll be easier on your finger tips. I'd say give the Yamaha C40 or the Redwood CG-144 a try,

You'll only really find what you like yourself by going to a guitar shop and trying a few out.

Shipley8312

Aug 12, 2014
I much prefer acoustic to electric. Almost everything comes down to preference. I much prefer nylon guitar strings to steel for example. For you, as a beginner, I'd say go with nylon strings as they'll be easier on your finger tips. I'd say give the Yamaha C40 or the Redwood CG-144 a try,

You'll only really find what you like yourself by going to a guitar shop and trying a few out.

thank you ill look those up now

Man of Harveys

Jul 9, 2003
Brighton, UK
No matter which type of music you want to play, I reckon toughen up the finger muscles and finger tips at first by getting a steel string acoustic. It is painfully tough going at first but it gets easier fairly quickly and after that either a nylon string acoustic or an electric will feel so much easier to play, plus you'll always benefit from having extra finger strength when playing any of them. And it sounds good. As well as chord positions etc, developing finger strength (missus) is, I think, very important early on.