Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

The abolition of Tax Returns...

Pavilionaire

Jul 7, 2003
As an accountant I've just called my professional body about Chancellor Osborne's abolition of Tax Returns announcement in yesterday's Budget. Their response: there was no consultation process about this - the government and HMRC just went ahead and did it, there is only a 9-page HMRC White Paper about it and no other documentation to shed any light re the technicalities, filing or implementation requirements, nobody knows when the nitty-gritty will be published and nobody knows when "early 2016" - the start date - actually is.

The technical advisor I spoke with was candid in his pessimism. My professional body hastily emailed all members immediately after the Budget seeking responses saying "Please send your comments, if possible, by close of business on 19 March", so just 28 hours after the Budget!

Don't get me wrong, I think the aims are laudable but the undue haste of this in the run-up to a General Election is astounding. Interestingly, Labour have made absolutely no comment on the subject, they could have agreed with the aim but disagreed with the implementation / timetable, they're just too lily-livered to be seen to disagree with the populist move of getting rid of Tax Returns.

No one comes out of this with any credit. Utter shambles, a disaster waiting to happen.

GreersElbow

Jan 5, 2012
A Northern Outpost
Surely this also opens up a new way to avoid tax. I want a simpler tax system, but this isn't going to be the way forward.

I personally think we need massive tax reform, simplify and then aggressively enforce it. Currently, it's like Swiss cheese..

seagullsovergrimsby

#cpfctinpotclub
Aug 21, 2005
Crap Town
The price of austerity ? Reduces the headcount in HMRC and promotes the use of new technology at the same time.

ROSM

Dec 26, 2005
Just far enough away from LDC