Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

Anyone own a telescope?

moggy

Oct 15, 2003
southwick
Being a complete beginner and wanting to focus on the nebulae and planets, I'm thinking of buying a Meade ETX 90 or 105 as they auto search
Anyone got any advice before I purchase ?

Prince Monolulu

Everything in Moderation
Oct 2, 2013
The Race Hill
Take it to all home games

pih5-l.jpg

Tarpon

Sep 12, 2013
BN1
Whatever you get, tell us when you spot the Leo pen ball will ya?

moggy

Oct 15, 2003
southwick
This is going well ��

clippedgull

Hotdogs, extra onions
Aug 11, 2003
Near Ducks, Geese, and Seagulls
Being a complete beginner and wanting to focus on the nebulae and planets, I'm thinking of buying a Meade ETX 90 or 105 as they auto search

Yes!

If you haven't already been, get yourself to these local guys. Friendly advice and service.

Based in Goring. http://www.sussex-astronomy-centre.co.uk/

Igzilla

Sep 27, 2012
Worthing

Probably not a bad idea. Have recently dusted mine off and find polar aligning tricky.

Dan Aitch

May 31, 2013
Give us a 'T'! (T!)
E! (E!)
L! (L!)
E! (E!)
S! (S!)
C! (C!)
O! (O!)
P! (P!)
E! (E!)

What's that smell?

image.jpg

Camicus

Don't get a auto align. The battery packs are bulky heavy and don't last long. Spend the money on a decent scope (none of this made in china crap) with decent firm equatorial mount. Depending on where you are using your scope and budget you might want to think about binos the field of vision is much greater but they can be bulky.pleiades.jpgThe Pleiades Cluster seen through binoculars.

pastafarian

Sep 4, 2011
Sussex

myself and my niece wanted to get into this for a while as a hobby we could both do together,i promised to buy the equipment but having looked into it i am more confused than ever especially when reflective vs refractor telescopes are thrown in.