Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

[Drinking] Where in Brighton can I buy a Pressure Barrel?

MattBackHome

Jul 7, 2003
Morning ****wads.

I'm new to home brewing and looking to pick up a PRESSURE BARREL today. That Easybrew place on Oxford St has shut - is there anywhere else around that does 40 pint pressure barrels?

The internet has failed me so I prostrate myself, once more, to the collective wisdom of NSC.

Cheers

tiberious

Nov 3, 2009
The earth
Try Maybee garden centre on the Old Shoreham Road they do home brew stuff.. Failing that there is a shop in Worthing and also the Wilkinsons in Worthing does home brew

knocky1

Jan 20, 2010
Yes Wilkos do them. I was at Specsavers in Worthing yesterday, could have picked it up for you. That's a fact not a joke.

May be worth ringing first to see it is in stock.

beorhthelm

A. Virgo, Football Genius
Jul 21, 2003
Wilkinsons is best bet, they do a good range of basic stuff.

note if you are starting up your brew this weekend, you wont need the barrel for a few days. also, if you're doing a kit use brewers sugar or spray malt, not plain old sugar. the later will give you a distinct homebrew taste, the spray malt will give the beer some proper depth of taste.

MattBackHome

Jul 7, 2003
Wilkinsons is best bet, they do a good range of basic stuff.

note if you are starting up your brew this weekend, you wont need the barrel for a few days. also, if you're doing a kit use brewers sugar or spray malt, not plain old sugar. the later will give you a distinct homebrew taste, the spray malt will give the beer some proper depth of taste.

Thanks for the tip - will try and get hold of some spray malt too.

It's been in the bucket for a few days so should be done today, though I'm going to use the hydrometer to check (once I've worked out what it's measuring and why.)

MattBackHome

Jul 7, 2003