Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

Building a web site

Uncle C

Jul 6, 2004
Bishops Stortford
I have a domain name and someone to host it, so I am merely looking for a web site that gives 'free' templates which will allow me to put together my own web site - I am a novice at this.

Most free packages seem to be tied to hosting web sites, unless you know better. :wave:

Bold Seagull

strong and stable with me, or...
Mar 18, 2010
Hove
I have a domain name and someone to host it, so I am merely looking for a web site that gives 'free' templates which will allow me to put together my own web site - I am a novice at this.

Most free packages seem to be tied to hosting web sites, unless you know better. :wave:

I think you could do a lot worse than look into Wordpress. There are plenty of templates and themes that won't cost you much (or you'll find some are free). A bit more work in terms of preparing the site than one of the instant type ones, but you might have more control.

Weebly was another one I looked into which appeared pretty good.

prawnsarnies

Jan 20, 2010
I think you could do a lot worse than look into Wordpress. There are plenty of templates and themes that won't cost you much (or you'll find some are free). A bit more work in terms of preparing the site than one of the instant type ones, but you might have more control.

Weebly was another one I looked into which appeared pretty good.

I use word press, it's easy to use and they have plenty of templates.

Goldstone Rapper

Rediffusion PlayerofYear
Jan 19, 2009
BN3 7DE
Go with Wordpress.com rather than Wordpress.org if you're a novice. No worries about security updates and backups

beorhthelm

A. Virgo, Football Genius
Jul 21, 2003
if your hosting provider doesnt give any basic web site templates, see if they give the option for a packaged install of Wordpress as mentioned.

if they dont, change hosting as they arent providing a meaningful service.

Uncle C

Jul 6, 2004