Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

Pension Pots

life on mars 73

Oct 19, 2010
Any financial experts on here ?

I've got a reasonable sized pension pot, and I'm now old enough to take out the 25% bit tax free. Is it best to do that now, or wait as long as possible, so the pot can continue to grow for a few more years ?

HantsSeagull

Aug 17, 2011
Caught in a Riptide

I've got a reasonable sized pension pot, and I'm now old enough to take out the 25% bit tax free. Is it best to do that now, or wait as long as possible, so the pot can continue to grow for a few more years ?

the latter as long as you don't need the money - always depending on what you have got it invested in of course!

Mellotron

I've asked for soup
Jul 2, 2008
Brighton
I work as an IFA so feel free to PM me if you'd like to discuss further.

nicko31

Jan 7, 2010
Gods country fortnightly
If you can get 25% now I'd do it before they change the rules. With more debt generated under this government than every other government in history sooner or late they will go looking for a savings raid. Pension pots will be an easy target

HantsSeagull

Aug 17, 2011
Caught in a Riptide
If you can get 25% now I'd do it before they change the rules. With more debt generated under this government than every other government in history sooner or late they will go looking for a savings raid. Pension pots will be an easy target

scaremongering i think - any retrospective action of that sort would be very unlikely and met with a middle class revolt!!

Tom Hark Preston Park

Will Post For Cash
Jul 6, 2003

The rules all change in April 2015. In theory you could take the whole lot out, tho you'd be liable for tax. Don't do anything before April 2015 would be my advice.

Tom Hark Preston Park

Will Post For Cash
Jul 6, 2003
Not all pension providers will be doing that???
regards
DR