Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

...and we're going up to win the cup..... GOSBTS question.

smudge

Up the Albion!
Jul 8, 2003
On the ocean wave
What would the chances be of people changing the decades old "Albion" version when singing GOSBTS?
After watching the programmes this year about the Sussex Regiment in WW1, it just got me thinking. We should take pride in the history of our great county, and sing the chorus as it should be.

"You may tell them all, that we stand or fall, for Sussex by the Sea".

I know it's an old chestnut on here, but with a new season looming, what better year than the 100th anniversary of the Great War to pay homage to the brave men of Sussex? (2 of my Nan's brothers among them at Ypres).

I think it would actually sound better as well, & I've been singing the Albion version since 1970. It was slower back then, but that's been done before I think!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sussex_by_the_Sea

Dan Aitch

May 31, 2013
It was always "Oh we're going up and we'll win the cup" when I was a kid so the version you've posted in the title is 4rse. :wozza:

Everest

Me
Jul 5, 2003
Southwick
Probably more chance than people calling it SBTS, rather than GOSBTS

kevo

Mar 8, 2008
And we'll win the cup. ...

I wish we'd sing that. It was only changed to "To win the Cup" on one day in May 1983. It should have then reverted to the previous version!

dazzer6666

NSC Patreon
Mar 27, 2013
Burgess Hill
I wish the club would put the (proper) words on the big screens karaoke style so everyone could sing it together.........

smudge

Up the Albion!
Jul 8, 2003
On the ocean wave
Good old Sussex by the Sea!
You may tell them all we stand or fall,
For Sussex by the Sea.