Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

What do thieves do with cars they steal ?

hopkins

Banned
Nov 6, 2003
Brighton
Do they change the plates and use false log book, do they go abroad or to a scrap yard ?

Sisters car got nicked but log book thrown out and all the stuff in the boot was dumped.

father_and_son

Jan 23, 2012
Under the Police Box
(I work in the insurance industry)

Depends what the car is...

High end - BMW, Merc, RangeRover, etc and it will be in a container (the metal blocking most tracking devices) and be on its way out of the country within hours - Africa is the most common destination.

Middle Value - VIN numbers removed or replaced and new identity cloned from another similar car. Then it will be sold in the UK to some mug. It'll be advertised privately, sold from the street outside a house from someone only giving a mobile number. Nothing will be legit. If you buy a car like this tell them you want to go inside the house to count out the money/exchange the docs and watch them balk because they don't live anywhere near where you are!

Cheap sh*t - it will be TWOC'd, thrashed around for fun for a day or two, maybe used in other crimes, then burn out or even just abandoned.

edna krabappel

NSC Patron
Jul 7, 2003
As above. High end motors may get sold on (stripped, lobbed into a shipping container and sent off to west Africa for example). Sometimes the perpetrators change the plates & keep them, but it's risky business as a fair few have trackers built in.

Mid range stuff frequently gets used to commit other crimes: burglaries, ram raids and so on. Or cloned. A P reg Vauxhall Corsa will probably have been nicked by some 16 year old for a laugh, and will be thrashed, smashed and dumped within a week.

BensGrandad

Jul 13, 2003
Haywards Heath