Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

Registering a baby's birth

MidSussexSeagull

Nov 24, 2006
Hello, I was wondering if anyone can help me.

I was recently made redundant and since then my wife has given birth to our first child (a Brighton fan of course). I know when you register the birth, you have to provide your occupation but I am reluctant for it to say i'm unemployed as i am yet to find a new role. I did hear from someone that if you are unemployed, you put your most recent job title there instead, but was wondering if there was anyone who had been in a similar situation who could confirm this for me as we have been putting off registering it to enable me to find a new job.

Thanks

Dick Head

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
Jan 3, 2010
Quaxxann
I'm a musician on my boy's birth certificate.

Guinness Boy

Tofu eating wokerati
Helpful Moderator
NSC Patreon
Jul 23, 2003
Up and Coming Sunny Portslade
:thumbsup: congrats.

The occupation is statistical. No one checks (in my case I doubt the registrar understood it). Put your last job.

GOM

living vicariously
Aug 8, 2005
Leeds - but not the dirty bit
Hello, I was wondering if anyone can help me.

I was recently made redundant and since then my wife has given birth to our first child (a Brighton fan of course). I know when you register the birth, you have to provide your occupation but I am reluctant for it to say i'm unemployed as i am yet to find a new role. I did hear from someone that if you are unemployed, you put your most recent job title there instead, but was wondering if there was anyone who had been in a similar situation who could confirm this for me as we have been putting off registering it to enable me to find a new job.

Thanks
As others have said just put your last occupation. Remember though you only have 42 days to register or the registrars will 'require' you to explain why you have not registered in time.

Firefly

GTAV NSC Crew
Apr 8, 2010