Loan/financial advice needed.

hopkins

Banned
Nov 6, 2003
Brighton
Ill just give a few basics :

Mortgage paid off
Trying to sell a flat so money will hopefully come in within the year
I have low paid job and business we have is breaking even but expected to make profits next year. Need about £10,000 to get by until flat is sold but struggling to get a loan and shortest mortgage is 5 years ! What's the best option ? I presume its loan against the properties ? I'm no good with money and there must be somebody who knows on here . Thanks in advance.

Springal

Feb 12, 2005
GOSBTS
I'm by no means an expert, but loan maybe the best bet, especially if they allow early repayment for no/low penalty.

Failing that and depending on your circumstances, my credit card company (MBNA) keep offering me 0% on money transfer (i.e charges goes on credit card, but cash in your bank) for 12 months, and a one off 4.5% charge, which would be extremely attractive to me if I was in that situation.

Uncle Spielberg

NSC Patreon
Jul 6, 2003
Lancing
Try Lloyds they have a low limit on mortgages. Most have a £ 25k minimum.

Vegas Seagull

Jul 10, 2009
Don't be concerned about 5 year shortest mortgage time, you may think you need it for 12 months but this COULD turn out to be 18m or 24m.
You can early settle before the 5 year term is up whenever you feel comfortable & any redemption fee would be worth paying given the peace of mind & flexibility the 5 year term provided you.

CheeseRolls

NSC Patreon
Jan 27, 2009
Shoreham Beach

Mortgage paid off
I have low paid job and business we have is breaking even but expected to make profits next year. Need about £10,000 to get by until flat is sold but struggling to get a loan and shortest mortgage is 5 years ! What's the best option ? I presume its loan against the properties ? I'm no good with money and there must be somebody who knows on here . Thanks in advance.

A massive contradiction, by modern standards. Don't be so hard on yourself.