Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

Student summer work??

irishprincess

Nov 14, 2013
Hello!
I'm currently in my second year of uni at home in Ireland, but was interested in possibly going to Brighton this coming summer, to work? This is just me thinking aloud at the moment, but Ireland is rather exceptionally miserable at the moment, and I fall in love with Brighton whenever I travel there. I thought it might be a good experience for a few friends and I to go over and just get some summer work, but I guess my question is, are short-term jobs difficult to come by? We'd be there for max. four months, and are employers stubborn in hiring non-locals (I know they are here)? So yeah, any help or thoughts are appreciated!
Anita

brighton_girl87

Jul 18, 2006
Whenever I used to come back home (to Brighton) during University Summer Holidays I always struggled to find a job.

Badger

NOT the Honey Badger
NSC Patreon
May 8, 2007
Toronto
You won't be alone in being a foreign student looking for a job during the summer, if you can get in early you might be lucky but I imagine the competition will be quite high.

Munkfish

May 1, 2006
Where are you thinking about living? Seriously expensive and I wouldnt imagine the hostels in Brighton are the nicest of places for Young 20 something girls to live in.

irishprincess

Nov 14, 2013
I'm studying English and Sociology, and have lots of experience with hotel work, but not sure if that's what i'd want to do there. Plus, a cheap flat might be hard to find for only a four month contract :/ Are there any places known for being good for student work? Certain companies/employers?

hello!