Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

Wi Fi signal booster

Have just gone high speed, works fine but I think it would go faster if I hard wired my pc rather that use wireless connection even with the signal booster I use. Other than getting a new BT socket fitted I believe there is a product that somehow sends the signal via the normal household electric circuit. Provided I am not imagining it please could you let me know if such a thing exists, price and ease of set up.

Promise I will buy it via Amazon on the site link.

gullshark

Dec 5, 2005
Worthing
They are called Homeplugs. They are alright but you gotta make sure they are connected through as few extension leads as possible for the best signal.

dougdeep

May 9, 2004
SUNNY SEAFORD
Click Amazon link. Enter wi-fi booster. It took me 5 seconds.

Mileoakman

Aug 11, 2003
The name gives it away
There very good. I have been using a set of homeplugs for a couple of years and I get no loss of speed. My router is in the living room and my PC in the spare bedroom. One of them goes through an extension socket and doesn't seem to cause any problems. They do work best though if both ends are on the same 'ring' circuit. I'm ok because its a bungalow and therefore only has the same circuit throughout.

Devlo make good ones.

Rugrat

Mar 13, 2011
Seaford
I'd echo these comments.

My problem was with concrete floors upstairs that the wirelss signal couldn't penetrate.

The Devolo product that carries the signal through the mains is easy and brilliant

Cappers

Deano's right one
Jun 3, 2010
Hove
I use a homeplug and plug a wireless repeater in the other end, so have strong signal throughouy my house. Very starightforward and effective. Make sure you get one as high speed as you can, future proof and all that