Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

Which law would you change / introduce to improve Football?

paul wickens

Wicko1
Dec 23, 2011
I referee both Football and Rugby at secondary school level (I'm a PE teacher) and feel that although, in my opinion Football is a better game because of its simplicity, the level of conduct between players and referees is far more civilised in Rugby because, the referee can move the ball forward 10 yards if decisions are contested and referees use a10 minute sin bin if players transgress; both of these would improve Football overnight if they were introduced. The 10 yard law was trialled for a bit in minor Football about 10 years ago but no feedback was forthcoming about its usefulness. I'm well aware that Rugby has its own problems in interpreting its own laws but I think Football can learn a lot from it in terms of player conduct. What does everyone think?

trueblue

Jul 5, 2003
Hove
Sin bin.

Yellow or sin bin for gobbing off to the ref.

You can already get a yellow for gobbing off at the ref. They just don't use it often enough. I'd go with a 10 or 15 minute sin bin though for second bookable offences. That'd be much better.

BensGrandad

Jul 13, 2003
Haywards Heath
Yellow card replaced with a 5 minute sin bin and then be sent off for a second instance In the administration a wages ceiling including add on weekly bonus for each division. The only exception being a lump sum on promotion as a bonus.

jonny.rainbow

Oct 29, 2005
The moving the ball forward rule was unpopular as it became a disadvantage the nearer to the goal the ball was moved.

I would rather see players who encroach at free-kicks, pull shirts at corners or unduly contest referee's decisions removed temporarily from the field of play.

BN9 BHA

DOCKERS
NSC Patreon
Jul 14, 2013
Newhaven