Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 32
  1. #1
    Members Mouldy Boots's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    O U T
    Posts
    10,724

    PC Experts only please


    0 Not allowed!
    I really don't know much about IT, so please talk to me in layman terms!


    Windows 7 pc.

    Switched on and screen comes up saying, "BIOS has been reset please describe how to continue",

    Load optimised defaults then boot.

    Load optimised defaults then reboot.

    Enter BIOS


    1) Why has it done this?


    2) what do i do?


    3) Will it do it again?



    Thanks in advance.
    was out on 9,999 but back after special request from Whitechapel.

    • North Stand Chat

      advertising
      Join Date: Jul 2003
      Posts: Lots

        


    • #2
      Captain Hindsight TSB's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 2003
      Location
      Lansdowne Place, Hove
      Posts
      17,611


      0 Not allowed!
      Choose the second option. Certainly don't enter BIOS if you don't know what you're doing.
      Did you lean on the keyboard when turning it on by any chance?
      The voice of hindsight.
      Bring back Chris Hughton.
    • #3
      Members bWize's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      1,374


      0 Not allowed!
      Quote Originally Posted by Mouldy Boots View Post
      This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
      I really don't know much about IT, so please talk to me in layman terms!


      Windows 7 pc.

      Switched on and screen comes up saying, "BIOS has been reset please describe how to continue",

      Load optimised defaults then boot.

      Load optimised defaults then reboot.

      Enter BIOS


      1) Why has it done this?


      2) what do i do?


      3) Will it do it again?



      Thanks in advance.

      If it keeps doing it then it's either a dead or faulty CMOS battery (the little round battery on the motherboard) or a faulty bios chip/motherboard

      Edit: Like the previous poster said, don't start playing with BIOS unless you know what you are doing.
    • #4
      Members Mouldy Boots's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 2004
      Location
      O U T
      Posts
      10,724


      0 Not allowed!
      Quote Originally Posted by TSB View Post
      This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
      Choose the second option. Certainly don't enter BIOS if you don't know what you're doing.
      Did you lean on the keyboard when turning it on by any chance?
      Quote Originally Posted by Arundel_Seagull View Post
      This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
      If it keeps doing it then it's either a dead or faulty CMOS battery (the little round battery on the motherboard) or a faulty bios chip/motherboard

      Edit: Like the previous poster said, don't start playing with BIOS unless you know what you are doing.


      Ok guy's i should tell you the full story it's a brand new Novatech PC just started using it as we just moved to a new Business unit the PC was on the deck (it is a desktop type rather than tower) and we got a call an hour or so before setting out to the AMEX from our business neighbors saying that a water main had burst in their unit and it may have made it's way through to us, guess what it had 2 to 3 inches all through the office and pc and external hard drive.

      So now you know that,

      1) is it bu**er*d?
      2) will it sort itself?
      3) How long does carbon monoxide take to work?
      was out on 9,999 but back after special request from Whitechapel.
    • #5
      Members bWize's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      1,374


      0 Not allowed!
      Quote Originally Posted by Mouldy Boots View Post
      This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
      Ok guy's i should tell you the full story it's a brand new Novatech PC just started using it as we just moved to a new Business unit the PC was on the deck (it is a desktop type rather than tower) and we got a call an hour or so before setting out to the AMEX from our business neighbors saying that a water main had burst in their unit and it may have made it's way through to us, guess what it had 2 to 3 inches all through the office and pc and external hard drive.

      So now you know that,

      1) is it bu**er*d?
      2) will it sort itself?
      3) How long does carbon monoxide take to work?
      Ouch, nasty! Sounds like it's shorting out to me.... I would unplug everything from the PC, take the side of the case off and put it somewhere warm and dry (Like an airing cupboard if possible) and try it in a few days time when thoroughly dried out.

      Would highly recommend you unplug everything as soon as possible though and not use until fully dried!

      Edit: Same with your External HDD
      Last edited by bWize; 01-09-2013 at 19:48.
    • #6
      A. Virgo, Football Genius
      Join Date
      Jul 2003
      Posts
      26,216


      0 Not allowed!
      Quote Originally Posted by Mouldy Boots View Post
      This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
      Ok guy's i should tell you the full story it's a brand new Novatech PC
      so call them about it. ok so water damage, but if you've got as far as it giving you anything, its not completely knacked. they can at least advise on how to restore it. likley the battery or somethign shorted out, so load the defaults as suggested and reboot. if its repeating (not said) put a hairdryer across it for 10 minutes to dry out.
      Daily Mail readers are living in a perpetual hell, expecting their homes to be overrun at any minute by hoodie wearing, skunk smoking, muslim, transgender, asylum seekers.
    • #7

      0 Not allowed!
      You're not having a lot of luck are you Paul !
    • #8
      Panic! At The Amex Tom Hark, Preston Park's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 2003
      Location
      BN1
      Posts
      55,991


      0 Not allowed!
      Have you tried turning it off and on again?
      Buy The Ticket,Take The Ride - Hunter S. Thompson
    • #9
      Members
      Join Date
      Nov 2004
      Location
      Telford
      Posts
      6,317


      0 Not allowed!
      Don't take the side off if its still under warranty - on desktops there are sensors that will tell the engineer you have done this self repair attempt.

      If you suspect water damage, either call them out / take it back, or give it 24 hours somewhere warm to dry and then try again.
      If fault persists, call in Novatech
    • #10
      East Upper Hermit burnee54's Avatar
      Join Date
      Sep 2011
      Location
      up the downs
      Posts
      1,001


      0 Not allowed!
      Tell your neighbour to claim the money for a new one from their insurance.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •