Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

OT: Lies you are allowed to tell your insurance company

father_and_son

Jan 23, 2012
Under the Police Box
I work in Insurance and so far this week I've had a never ending increase in the bare-faced lies being told to me about people's car insurance.

I just wanted an unscientific but hopefully unbiased poll on what lies people think are acceptable and what you think is too far...

This pretty much covers mu week so far:

1. I park my car on the road outside the house but tell my insurer its garaged/on the drive. Ok or Too Far?

2. I lie about the postcode where I keep my car, saying its kept in a nice area when its not. Ok or Too Far?

3. I tell them I do 8,000 miles a year but I always do 10,000. Ok or Too Far?

4. I tell them I do 3,000 miles a year but do 30,000. Ok to Too Far?

5. The insurance is in my dad's name because its cheaper, even though it is my car. Ok or Too Far?

6. I have a new exhaust, alloy wheels and a window tint but told them no modifications. Ok or Too Far?

7. I told them I was 21 but I'm actually only 18. Ok or Too Far?

8. I said 5 years NCD but I haven't got it. They never check anyway. Ok or Too Far?

9. I drive without insurance because its too expensive. Ok or Too Far?

If you personally would do any/all of these, what is too far? Anything?

If you personally wouldn't do any of these, what lies would you tell?

W.C.

Oct 31, 2011
Make a poll with all the options available. Ok or too far?

Titanic

Super Moderator
Helpful Moderator
Jul 5, 2003
West Sussex
1. I park my car on the road outside the house but tell my insurer its garaged/on the drive. Ok if you have a drive! or Too Far?

2. I lie about the postcode where I keep my car, saying its kept in a nice area when its not. Ok or Too Far?

5. The insurance is in my dad's name because its cheaper, even though it is my car. Ok or Too Far (assuming you mean 'Main driver')?