Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

Isle of Man TT - why is this still allowed?

Stat Brother

NSC Patron
Jul 11, 2003
West west west Sussex
I have no knowledge of 2 wheels & a motor, to the point that I've never even sat on a motorbike.

I'm not trying to be controversial here, it's a genuine question, based on the fact that just one death at an organised sporting event, sends regulatory bodies into a tailspin.
As an outsider looking in, the only thing I know about the TT is, it kills people.

This story caught my eye:-

http://uk.eurosport.yahoo.com/news/motorsports-spectators-injured-isle-man-crash-144248300.html

and fortunately the closing paragraph saved me from the next obvious follow-on google search

The TT races, which draw throngs of bikers to the island, are generally regarded as the most dangerous in motorcycling with 240 rider fatalities since 1907.
The latest was 43-year-old Japanese Yoshinari Matsushita, who was killed in practice last week. He was the 21st to die at the circuit since 2000.

As said I don't wish to tread on the toes of this boards TT fans, I'd just like to know how they are able to bypass H&S.

GoldWithFalmer

Seaweed! Seaweed!
Apr 24, 2011
SouthCoast
Coming from a cyclist,well i think that lot are mad too :lolol:

Stat Brother

NSC Patron
Jul 11, 2003
West west west Sussex
Coming from a cyclist,well i think that lot are mad too :lolol:
Oh yeah, I am at pains to state I'm not trolling here.
If we had an inflection smilie I would be able to ask the question in the way it's intended!!

vegster

Sanity Clause
May 5, 2008
They are motorcyclists, its what they do. Probably a bit safer for them too as there are less cars getting in the way.

GoldWithFalmer

Seaweed! Seaweed!
Apr 24, 2011
SouthCoast
Oh yeah, I am at pains to state I'm not trolling here.
If we had an inflection smilie I would be able to ask the question in the way it's intended!!