Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

Hosting

sebtucknott

Aug 22, 2011
Shoreham-by-Sea
Hey guys and gals

I need some advice on hosting companies.

I've been using 1and1 for 8 years, now have 6 servers and 200 sites hosted with them.

Generally they are pretty good however yesterday our main server went down for 18hours!!! Costing my clients and Bright Site possibly £1000s in lost sales and business leads.

Everytime I called them they said they were working on it and will be up within the hour.

This was the final straw for me and essential to move somewhere else I feel now.

I'm strongly considering Rackspace does anyone have experiences with them, good/bad.

What I need -

• 100% uptime (close to)
  • Flexibility to increase resource (we're launching 5 sites a month and only going to increase)
  • Decent server monitoring
  • CDN for file storage
  • Full admin control of the servers
  • Hourly backups
  • 100+ email accounts (can be another company)
  • Great support

Any thoughts would be hugely appreciated.

Seb

Muzzy

Jan 25, 2011
Lewes
I use a company called Avenue Host. No problems for me so far. Have a look at their website for more info.

Bozza

You can change this
Helpful Moderator
Jul 4, 2003
Back in Sussex
NSC has been in the Rackspace cloud for a while now. Generally happy.

Given the scale of your operation though, I'm not sure many NSCers will be well placed to give a qualified answer.

Springal

Feb 12, 2005
GOSBTS
Would it not help to have some redundancy ?

Uk2 or Rackspace would be one shout.

LCN or ServerChoice (different brands of the same company) are highly recommended by me and the right size to care, but still bigger than a bedroom operation. Own their own data centres in Stevenage and Welwyn Garden City

Westdene Seagull

aka Cap'n Carl Firecrotch
NSC Patron
Oct 27, 2003
The arse end of Hangleton
Would it not help to have some redundancy ?

Uk2 or Rackspace would be one shout.