Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

So this 20mph speed limit around town how is it affecting you ?

Feb 23, 2009
Brighton factually.....
I live up the top end of Hartington Road and when you drive up Elm Grove or any other hill in Brighton surely you must use more petrol in a lower gear which would increase the carbon footprint ? I am no expert so someone correct me. I agree with the 20mph speed limit around schools. Are speeding fines being issued ? has anyone been fined ?

Horton's halftime iceberg

Blooming Marvellous
Jan 9, 2005
Brighton
It works good around here at the bottom of Ditchling Road, doesn't seem to affect my traveling times and hopefully it will save accidents/lives. Oddly enough, by the time you get up to the schools by me (Downs) the 30 mph speed limit kicks in again!

Greyrun

Feb 23, 2009
Council have said it is not going to be enforced and keeping to the limit is down to the goodwill of the motorist.

c0lz

North East Stand.
Jan 26, 2010
Patcham/Brighton
Brighton 20mph speed limit - e-petitions a petittion to have them removed.

This pees me off big time, don't get me wrong yes put them around hospitals/schools but nearly every other street is over the top, and why have the Greens not made hospitals/schools a priority.

And as for lewes rd its the biggest cock up going its the second biggest rd leading into Brighton so they decide to make it from double lane to single and now 20mph zone slowing the traffic down even more and to think they were worried about exhaust emissions lol, so to combat this you bring the traffic down to snails pace really? lol

soistes

Sep 12, 2012
Brighton
I've found it pretty hard to stick to 20 mph. Not that I've tried too hard.
It's actually doubly annoying -- there's the difficulty of keeping at 20, which is compounded by the irritation of impatient t**ts stuck behind you flashing their lights etc.