Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

Do any takeaways/curry houses do gluten-free food in Sussex (H. Heath?)

willyfantastic

Mar 1, 2009
Can anybody recommend any decent restaurants/takeaway places that have gluten-free on the menu?

I'm new to this and pretty sure curry houses & pizzas are full of the stuff because of the pizza base and sauce thickener, but when I can't be arsed to make something specific and want a takeaway are there any options?

Also if anybody has a gluten/wheat free diet do they have any advice on good food replacements or things to avoid etc (from the gluten-free stuff)?

Thanks

beorhthelm

A. Virgo, Football Genius
Jul 21, 2003
would have thought curry is gluten free if you avoid the nann (difficult i know).

Barnham Seagull

Yapton Actually
Dec 28, 2005
Yapton
would have thought curry is gluten free if you avoid the nann (difficult i know).

Depends on the spice mix they are using and if they thicken the sauces with anything.

Also they would need to make sure there is no cross contamination.

My mother in law is a celiac and would not ever get a takeway as they do not understand the request gluten free.

Obviosly it depends on the severity of the condition, she would be violently ill at the slightest trace of gluten ever a tiny peice of bread on a knife.

LamieRobertson

Not awoke
Feb 3, 2008
SHOREHAM BY SEA
my daughter has to have a gluten free diet ..its so unfair for her that food costs more..and the bread tastes of cardboard (least what i would imagine it to taste like)...i see waffles are gluten free

PS when she dines out she goes to Carluccios in Brighton quite a lot because they do gluten free pasta and sauces

oxymoron

NSC Patron
Feb 25, 2011
Haldi, Indian restaurant in Southwater will do a gluten free menu for you just ring first.

Uwinsc

Aug 14, 2010
Horsham