Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

Laying floor tiles in the kitchen - tips, warnings, recommendations?

matt

Mar 19, 2007
Hey y'all,

I need to tile my kitchen floor, which is something I have no experience in. The kitchen is not very big but has a number of fixed floor units that stand on metal legs (which I will have to work around). Is it as easy as: remove lino > clean floor (it has solid surface under lino, not floorboards) > buy tiles > put "glue" down > cut and lay tiles? Or is there some crazy advanced DIY procedure to work through in order to avoid an embarrassing bodge job?

Any tips or past experiences to share? Am I better off buying the tiles and paying for a real man to lay them? It needs to be done before Christmas if I am to stand any chance of getting Black Ops in my stocking.

Cheers :albion2:

Superphil

Dismember
Jul 7, 2003
In a pile of football shirts
Sounds like you've got it pretty much Sussed. My only bit of advice, get a decent tile cutter, worth the (minimal) expense rather than trying to do it with a scribe.

HAILSHAM SEAGULL

Nov 9, 2009
Start with a centre line and work outwards so your cuts are equel each side. Nothing looks worse than full tile one side and two inch wide strip the other side.
Are the legs adjustable, if so wind them up and tile under them, save a lot of time cutting round them.

seagullsovergrimsby

#cpfctinpotclub
Aug 21, 2005
Crap Town
The legs should be adjustable to accommodate uneven floor levels. You'll get a more professional finish by tiling under them instead of cutting around.

Shoreham Gull

Nov 3, 2012
Westdene
Might sound funny, but watch tips on : you tube..

They talk through it and show u what to do, tilers are expensive and doing the job yourself and spending time on it, will give u more pleasure then paying someone else..
I done ensuite all walls and floors with no experience, easy to do just takes time.