Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

Getting prizes for Charity Raffles - HELP!

FalmerforAll!**

NSC's Most Intelligent
Oct 26, 2005
Burgess Hill
Afternoon all,

This is my first time at attempting to contact a number of different restaurants, venues, football clubs etc in order to get prizes for a charity raffle.

Has anyone had any experience in doing this before? What sort of luck did you have? Are there any good places to go specifically for this type of thing?

Thanks in advance!

Fignon's Ponytail

Jun 29, 2012
On the Beach
I tried this a couple of years ago when we were fundraising for Saltdean Utd but had sweet FA from everyone....except Birmingham City who sent me a signed photo of the Alex McLeish. Great.
I wrote to every Premiership team and had virtually the same letter back from each of them, basically saying they have their own community charities & projects so cant extend to anyone elses. I fear you'll get the same response.
I even had the same answer from the Albion (I even mentioned that Adam El Abd started at Saltdean - thinking the link might help my cause)....but I got the same response as all the others gave me.
Restaurants are generally pretty helpful though - sure you'll get vouchers etc if you ask....

Good luck in trying - let us know how you get on!

Work on the assumption that most businesses won't give you a prize just because it's a charity, unless it's one that's connected in some way to what they do or their customers.

You need to persuade them that by donating something free this will generate more business for them. So it's a free sample if you like, not a donation.

New businesses just starting up may be more likely to give you something, say a new restaurant or hotel. If a hotel gives you a free night or a weekend there is every chance the winner will eat and drink there,

Vegas Seagull

Jul 10, 2009
Afternoon all,