Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

[Offers] Colonial pipeline hacked

Shropshire Seagull

Nov 5, 2004
Telford
If its got an IP address, it can be hacked. The IOT is a gateway on the network which allows you to pivit on to a machine to escalate privileges, leading to owning the domain.

Once you own the domain, you got full control.

That's like saying "wherever there is a door it can be opened and once inside you own the house" - whilst half true, we put locks on doors and for things like safes, we make the doors and locks out off especially tough materials, so not impossible to get in, but by no means easy either.

It the IT world [I'm sure you know this] we use things called firewalls. Admittedly these can be configured to be as secure as your garden shed door but they can also be designed to be like getting into Fort Knox. Depends on the value of what you are trying to protect as this will drive the effort you take to protect. I have some experience of "Crown Hosting" where our Government keep their most secure data and every device [inc the firewalls] have an IP address - good luck trying to break in to that - and if you should try - be prepared for a tap on your door and a stretch at Her Majesties pleasure.

Agreed, Fort Knox is not impossible to enter, but there aren't too many people who would know how - if there was, they'd be getting robbed every week.

All that said, I do agree that cyber-terrorism is probably fast becoming the greater threat over bombs and bullets. A scenario I read recently - imagine the carnage if Iran or North Korea [etc.] were able to hack the US Power Grid or drinking water filtration systems.

dadams2k11

ID10T Error
Jun 24, 2011
Brighton