Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

Player of the year

B.M.F

Aug 2, 2003
wherever the money is
Shevchenko has been named player of the year whilst Henry came in a lowly 4th :clap2: :clap2: :clap2: :clap2:

B.M.F

Aug 2, 2003
wherever the money is
Ronaldhino came 3rd with Deco in 2nd according to sky sports

full report here

Milan striker Andrei Shevchenko is the new European Footballer of the Year, it has finally been confirmed.

Shevchenko succeeds Pavel Nedved as the Ballon D'Or winner, after beating Deco into second and Ronaldinho into third respectively.

Arsenal's Thierry Henry was down in fourth place nearly 100 points behind Shevchenko.

"When I started playing football I dreamt to become a big player and to win a prestigious award like this," beamed the Ukraine star.

"I'm really happy. I feel myself a more complete and experienced player. But the most important thing is that I have learnt about winning."

Shevchenko was full of praise for his manager Carlo Ancelotti.

"With Carlo Ancelotti I have won and I become a winner," he said.

"Our coach is different in comparison to all the others with which I worked.

"He gives me a big tranquillity, he listens to you.

"With him you can talk as a former player in addition to as a coach - he is well prepared."

Greece's Theo Zagorakis took fifth, with Adriano in sixth and former holder Nedved in seventh.

Wayne Rooney was the highest ranking England player as he came in eighth, ahead of Manchester United team-mate Ruud van Nistelrooy and Chelsea's Ricardo Carvalho who completed the top ten by being equal ninth.

Other notable English-based performers were Milan Baros (12), Cristiano Ronaldo (12), Didier Drogba (17) and Frank Lampard (17).

Last edited:

mejonaNO12 aka riskit

Dec 4, 2003
England
bha.fatboy said:
Shevchenko has been named player of the year whilst Henry came in a lowly 4th :clap2: :clap2: :clap2: :clap2:

disgraceful

1-henry
2-ronaldinho
3-deco